top of page

Immigration

Guadeloupe  "Welcoming Land"

Guadeloupe (See map opposite)

 

1°) A land of welcome for the children of the Bateau "l'Aurélie", and immigrants who arrived by the boats that followed it from 1854 to 1889.

2°) Land of adoption of the Indians who could not return to the country of their ancestors, and

 those who wanted to stay in Guadeloupe

 

Guadeloupe, land of welcome for the 42,316 Indians who left India from 1854 to 1889, and land of adoption for those who stayed and those who could not return, covers an area of 1,704 km2, and located in the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, in Central America.

 

It is an island of the French West Indies, which is about 15,000 km from India,

"the motherland"

 

        

guad-inde.jpg

Leaving the ports of India, the boats  had to sail for about 3 months to arrive in Guadeloupe.

 

Guadeloupe is a land of interbreeding between Europe, Africa and Asia (Middle East, India). Thus the long-erased Indian community wishes to have its identity recognized. The presence of the Indian color whether by the colombo (spice) or by the emblematic fabric of the traditional outfit, the madras, recalls their contribution deeply rooted in the Guadeloupean identity.

 

La  Guadeloupe has just over 405,000 inhabitants whose composition is as follows: 72% of Guadeloupeans are Afro-Guadeloupean, 14% are Indo-Guadeloupean 9% are of European type, 2% from Middle East, finally, the others (the Siro-lybanais, Dominicans, Dominicans, Haitians .....)  represent nearly 3% of the inhabitants. In addition, Guadeloupe's population is very young.

 

Guadeloupe being a French department, French is the official language. Representatives of the oldest generations of the archipelago do not always speak fluent French, but Guadeloupean Creole. Guadeloupean Creole is considered a regional language, an ancient language born from a crossbreeding of French, English and African languages and certain Amerindian words.

 

Creole was the means of communication of the Indian immigrants, the Indians coming from different villages of India did not always understand each other, and they needed a language allowing them to communicate. They thus very quickly learned Creole in which certain Hindi words such as: (nan ni nan nan, appa, anman) are integrated.

 

Sugar cane and bananas are the two biggest productions of the archipelago.

 

Guadeloupean culture is characterized by its diversity. It comes from the mixture of the different cultures that make it up. We can cite African culture, Indian culture, South American culture, Syrian-Lebanese culture. These influences were combined with the European culture brought by metropolitan France, which constitutes the predominant cultural contribution.

 

Today, with increasing globalization, these mixtures are increasingly present in artistic fields such as theater, music, cooking, cinema, literature.

 

Due to its archipelagic nature, Guadeloupe reveals landscapes that are as varied as they are contrasting on an archipelago made up of 1704 km2 of emerged land, and includes a multitude of islands, six of which are inhabited.

bottom of page

Immigration

Guadeloupe  "Terre d'Accueil"

La Guadeloupe (Voir carte ci-contre)

 

1°) Terre d’accueil des enfants du Bateau "l’Aurélie", et des immigrants arrivés par les bateaux qui l’ont suivi de 1854 à 1889.

2°) Terre d'adoption des Indiens qui n'ont pas pu retourner au pays des aïeux, et

 ceux qui ont voulu rester en Guadeloupe

 

La Guadeloupe, terre d'accueil des 42 316 indiens qui ont quitté l'Inde de 1854 à 1889, et terre d'adoption de ceux qui sont restés et ceux qui n'ont pas pu retourner, est d’une superficie de 1 704 km2, et située dans la mer des Caraïbes et l’océan Atlantique, en Amérique Centrale.

 

C’est une île des Antilles Françaises, qui se trouve à environ 15 000 km de l’Inde,

"la mère patrie"

 

        

En quittant les ports de l'Inde, les bateaux devaient naviguer pendant environ 3 mois pour arriver en Guadeloupe.

 

La Guadeloupe est une terre de métissage entre l'Europe, l'Afrique et l'Asie (Moyen-Orient, Inde). Ainsi la communauté indienne longtemps effacée, tient à faire reconnaître son identité. La présence de la couleur indienne que ce soit par le colombo (épice) ou par le tissu emblématique de la tenue traditionnelle, le madras, rappelle leur contribution très ancrée dans l'identité guadeloupéenne.

 

La  Guadeloupe compte un peu plus de 405.000 habitants dont la composition est comme suit : 72 % des guadeloupéens sont afro-caribéens, 14 % sont indo-guadeloupéens 9 % sont de type européen, 2 % originaires du Moyen-Orient, enfin, les autres ( les siro-lybanais, dominiquais, dominiquains, haïtiens.....)  représentent près de 3 % des habitants. De plus, la population guadeloupéenne est très jeune.

 

La Guadeloupe étant un département français, le français en est la langue officielle. Les représentants des plus anciennes générations de l'archipel ne parlent pas toujours couramment le français, mais le créole guadeloupéen. Le créole guadeloupéen est considéré comme une langue régionale, langue ancienne née d'un métissage de français, d'anglais et de langues africaines et de certains mots amérindiens.

 

Le créole était le moyen de communication des immigrants indiens, les indiens provenant de différents villages de l’Inde ne se comprenaient pas toujours entre eux, et il leur fallait un langage leur permettant de communiquer. Ils ont ainsi très vite appris le créole où il est intégré certains mots hindi comme : (nan ni nan nan, appa, anman).

 

La canne à sucre et la banane, sont les deux plus grosses productions de l'archipel.

 

La culture guadeloupéenne se caractérise par sa diversité. Elle est issue du mélange des différentes cultures qui la composent. On peut citer la culture africaine, la culture indienne, la culture sud-américaine, la culture syro-libanaise. Ces influences se sont combinées avec la culture européenne apportée par la France métropolitaine, ce qui constitue l'apport culturel prédominant.

 

Aujourd'hui, avec la mondialisation croissante, ces mélanges se font de plus en plus présents dans les domaines artistiques comme le théâtre, la musique, la cuisine, le cinéma, la littérature.

 

De par son caractère archipélagique, la Guadeloupe dévoile des paysages aussi bien variés que contrastés sur un archipel composé de 1704 km2 de terres émergées, et comprend une multitude d’îles, dont six sont habitées.